Retail Sales

Bans on Off-Premises Sunday Sales

Laws banning Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages for off-premises consumption as of January 1, 1998 and repeals from that date forward.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Search policies as of this date:
Jurisdiction Policies as of Ban Repealed Exceptions Citations
Local Option 3.2 Beer Sales
Allowed
AL (Alabama)
1/1/2017 Yes 2 Citations
AR (Arkansas)
1/1/2017 Yes 3 Citations
CO (Colorado)
1/1/2017Yes  3 Citations
CT (Connecticut)
1/1/2017Yes  4 Citations
DE (Delaware)
1/1/2017Yes  3 Citations
GA (Georgia)
1/1/2017 Yes 4 Citations
IL (Illinois)
1/1/2017Yes  1 Citations
IN (Indiana)
1/1/2017   3 Citations
KS (Kansas)
1/1/2017 Yes 5 Citations
KY (Kentucky)
1/1/2017 Yes 4 Citations
MA (Massachusetts)
1/1/2017Yes  4 Citations
MN (Minnesota)
1/1/2017  Yes2 Citations
NE (Nebraska)
1/1/2017 Yes 8 Citations
OK (Oklahoma)
1/1/2017  Yes6 Citations
PA (Pennsylvania)

Hotels and restaurants are allowed to sell malt or brewed beverages on Sundays for consumption off the premises where sold in quantities of not more than 192 fluid ounces. Effective February 7, 2003, Pennsylvania amended its Sunday sales ban to allow for a two-year time period during which "the board shall open up to ten per centum of the total number of Pennsylvania Liquor Stores at its discretion for Sunday sales." See 47 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3-304. Effective February 7, 2005, this statute was amended to remove the trial period and to authorize the board to open up to 25 percent of the total number of Pennsylvania liquor stores for Sunday sales. Effective September 6, 2005, manufacturers, importing distributors, and distributors were authorized to sell malt or brewed beverages to non-licensed buyers on Sundays. Effective August 8, 2016, Pennsylvania Liquor Stores, including online stores, shall be open on the hours and days that the board deems appropriate.

1/1/2017Yes  10 Citations
RI (Rhode Island)
1/1/2017Yes  3 Citations
SC (South Carolina)
1/1/2017 Yes 5 Citations
TN (Tennessee)

Tennessee's local option law only applies to beer of not more than 5 percent ABW, or any other beverage of like alcoholic content, except wine as defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-3-101.

1/1/2017 Yes 4 Citations
UT (Utah)
1/1/2017 Only in combination with another exceptionOnly in combination with another exception6 Citations
VA (Virginia)

In Virginia, beginning on July 1, 2004, certain government stores, as determined by the Board, in any county having the urban county executive form of government, in any city adjacent to or completely surrounded by any such county, in any county contiguous to any such county, in any city adjacent to or completely surrounded by any such contiguous county, or in any city having a population in excess of 200,000 (or beginning on July 1, 2008, a population of 100,000 or more), may be open on Sunday for the sale of alcoholic beverages after 1:00 p.m.

1/1/2017Yes  3 Citations