Retail Sales

Beverage Service Training and Related Practices

Laws specifying requirements or incentives for retail alcohol outlets to participate in server training programs (often referred to as Responsible Beverage Service).

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and
Changes Over Time for Beverage Service Training and Related Practices
Jurisdiction Date Range Law Type Mandatory States
Training Required
Voluntary States
Incentives for Training
Applies To Citations
Licensee Manager Server/
Seller
Liability
Defense
Mitigation
of
Penalties
Discounts Protection
of
License
On or
Off-Premises
Establishments
New or
Existing
Licensees
AZ (Arizona)
1/1/2003 - 8/11/2005Voluntary       BothUnspecified2 Citations
AZ (Arizona)
8/12/2005 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  BothUnspecified5 Citations
CA (California)

Although the effective date of California's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program was January 1, 2018, the program does not become fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2021.

Note that prior to January 1, 2018, California had only a voluntary beverage service training program.

1/1/2003 - 12/15/2004       
CA (California)

Although the effective date of California's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program was January 1, 2018, the program does not become fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2021.

Note that prior to January 1, 2018, California had only a voluntary beverage service training program.

12/16/2004 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  UnspecifiedUnspecified1 Citations
CA (California)

Although the effective date of California's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program was January 1, 2018, the program does not become fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2021.

Note that prior to January 1, 2018, California had only a voluntary beverage service training program.

1/1/2018 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    On-PremisesBoth4 Citations
CO (Colorado)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2004       
CO (Colorado)
7/1/2004 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  UnspecifiedUnspecified4 Citations
CO (Colorado)

A liquor-licensed drugstore that sells alcohol beverages must obtain certification as a responsible alcohol beverage vendor. A training program must be attended by the resident on-site owner (if applicable) or manager, and all employees selling alcohol beverages.

7/1/2016 - 1/1/2018MandatoryYesYesYes    Off-PremisesUnspecified4 Citations
IL (Illinois)
1/1/2003 - 8/14/2014Voluntary       BothUnspecified3 Citations
IL (Illinois)
8/15/2014 - 1/1/2018Voluntary       Off-PremisesUnspecified3 Citations
IL (Illinois)

Although the effective date of Illinois’ enacting legislation establishing an on-premises beverage service training program was August 15, 2014 (see 2014 Ill. Laws 98-939, §5, as amended by 2015 Ill. Laws 99-46, §5), on-premises alcohol servers in Cook County are required to complete training in basic responsible alcohol service as outlined in 77 Ill. Adm. Code 3500 by July 1, 2015, or within 120 days after beginning employment, whichever is later. All servers in a county, other than Cook, with a population of 200,000 or more must complete training by the later of July 1, 2016, or within 120 days after employment. All servers in a county with a population of more than 30,000 and less than 200,000 are required to complete training by the later of July 1, 2017, or within 120 days after employment. All alcohol servers in counties with a population of 30,000 or less are required to complete training by the later of July 1, 2018, or within 120 days after employment. From July 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015, enforcement is limited to education and notification of the requirements to encourage compliance.

8/15/2014 - 1/1/2018Mandatory  Yes    On-PremisesUnspecified6 Citations
IN (Indiana)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2005Voluntary    Yes  BothUnspecified4 Citations
IN (Indiana)
7/1/2005 - 6/30/2006MandatoryYesYesYes    BothUnspecified8 Citations
IN (Indiana)
7/1/2006 - 6/30/2010MandatoryYesYesYes    BothBoth11 Citations
IN (Indiana)

Beverage service training requirements were suspended during the period beginning on July 1, 2010 and ending on May 1, 2011. See 2010 Ind. Acts 10, § 5.

7/1/2010 - 4/30/2011       10 Citations
IN (Indiana)
5/1/2011 - 1/1/2018MandatoryYesYesYes    BothBoth10 Citations
IA (Iowa)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2011       
IA (Iowa)

The mitigation of penalties incentive does not apply if a sale is made to a minor under the age of 18.

7/1/2011 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes YesBothUnspecified5 Citations
MN (Minnesota)
1/1/2003 - 7/31/2007       
MN (Minnesota)

Minnesota provides for a reduced license fee as an incentive for retailers to implement beverage service training, among other programs. See Minn. Stat. § 340A.408(3)(c)(1).

8/1/2007 - 1/1/2018Voluntary     Yes 2 Citations
MT (Montana)
1/1/2003 - 9/30/2011Voluntary    Yes  BothBoth3 Citations
MT (Montana)

In addition to managers and servers/sellers, Montana’s “responsible alcohol sales and service act” also applies to licensees or owners who personally engage in the role of selling or serving alcoholic beverages.

Although the effective date of Montana's enacting legislation adding a mandatory server training requirement was October 1, 2011 (see 2011 Mont. Laws 412), the mandatory training requirement was not fully implemented and enforceable and did not replace the voluntary server training program until January 13, 2012 (with a 30-day grace period).

10/1/2011 - 1/12/2012Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth7 Citations
MT (Montana)
10/1/2011 - 1/12/2012Voluntary    Yes  BothBoth2 Citations
MT (Montana)

Although the effective date of Montana's enacting legislation adding a mandatory server training requirement was October 1, 2011 (see 2011 Mont. Laws 412), the mandatory training requirement was not fully implemented and enforceable and did not replace the voluntary server training program until January 13, 2012 (with a 30-day grace period).

1/13/2012 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth7 Citations
NE (Nebraska)
1/1/2003 - 10/7/2007       
NE (Nebraska)
10/8/2007 - 1/1/2018Voluntary       UnspecifiedUnspecified6 Citations
NV (Nevada)
1/1/2003 - 6/16/2005       
NV (Nevada)

Although the effective date of Nevada's enacting legislation establishing a beverage service training program was June 17, 2005 (see 2005 Nev. Stat. 497), by its terms the program will not be fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2007 (with a 30-day grace period). The applicability of Nevada's "alcoholic beverage awareness program" to on-sale retailers is limited to establishments located in a jurisdiction that: (a) is located in a county whose population is 100,000 or more; or (b) is located in a county whose population is less than 100,000, if the governing body of the jurisdiction has, by the affirmative vote of a majority of its members, agreed to be bound by the provisions of section 9 of the act. In addition, prior to July 1, 2011, the applicability to off-sale retailers was limited to establishments in counties whose populations were 400,000 or more. Beginning July 1, 2011 this applicability is limited to off-sale retail establishments in counties whose populations are 700,000 or more.

6/17/2005 - 1/1/2018Mandatory  Yes    BothBoth5 Citations
NH (New Hampshire)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2014Voluntary   YesYes  BothBoth3 Citations
NH (New Hampshire)
7/1/2014 - 1/1/2018Voluntary   Yes   BothBoth2 Citations
ND (North Dakota)
1/1/2003 - 7/31/2015       
ND (North Dakota)
8/1/2015 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  UnspecifiedUnspecified2 Citations
OH (Ohio)
1/1/2003 - 4/6/2004       
OH (Ohio)
4/7/2004 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  BothUnspecified2 Citations
PA (Pennsylvania)
1/1/2003 - 2/20/2012Voluntary    Yes  BothBoth3 Citations
PA (Pennsylvania)
2/21/2012 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  BothBoth3 Citations
PA (Pennsylvania)
2/21/2012 - 8/7/2016Mandatory Yes     BothBoth2 Citations
PA (Pennsylvania)
8/8/2016 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth3 Citations
RI (Rhode Island)
1/1/2003 - 6/24/2004Voluntary   Yes   UnspecifiedUnspecified2 Citations
RI (Rhode Island)
6/25/2004 - 1/1/2018Voluntary   Yes   UnspecifiedUnspecified6 Citations
RI (Rhode Island)

Although the effective date of Rhode Island's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program was June 25, 2004 (see R.I. Gen. Laws § 3 -7-6.1), due to the subsequent amendments, the program did not become fully implemented and enforceable until April 1, 2006.

Note that prior to June 25, 2004, Rhode Island had only a voluntary beverage service training program.

6/25/2004 - 7/6/2005Mandatory  Yes    On-PremisesExisting3 Citations
RI (Rhode Island)

Although the effective date of Rhode Island's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program was June 25, 2004 (see R.I. Gen. Laws § 3 -7-6.1), due to the subsequent amendments, the program did not become fully implemented and enforceable until April 1, 2006.

Note that prior to June 25, 2004, Rhode Island had only a voluntary beverage service training program.

7/7/2005 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    On-PremisesExisting9 Citations
SD (South Dakota)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2003Voluntary      YesBothBoth2 Citations
SD (South Dakota)
7/1/2003 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  BothBoth5 Citations
TN (Tennessee)
1/1/2003 - 6/4/2006Mandatory  Yes    On-PremisesBoth3 Citations
TN (Tennessee)

Although the approval date of Tennessee's enacting legislation establishing a voluntary beverage service training program applicable to off-premises sale of beer was June 5, 2006, the program did not become fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2007. Note that prior to June 5, 2006, Tennessee had only a mandatory beverage service training program applicable to on-premises sales of alcoholic beverages.

6/5/2006 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes YesOff-PremisesUnspecified16 Citations
TN (Tennessee)
6/5/2006 - 6/7/2010Mandatory  Yes    On-PremisesBoth3 Citations
TN (Tennessee)
6/8/2010 - 3/19/2014Mandatory YesYes    On-PremisesBoth4 Citations
TN (Tennessee)

Although the effective date of Tennessee's enacting legislation establishing a mandatory beverage service training program for: (a) "retail food store wine licensees," and (b) retailers licensed to sell "alcoholic spirituous beverages, including beer and malt beverages, to patrons or customers, in sealed packages only, and not for consumption on the premises except for conducting tastings," was March 20, 2014 (see 2014 Tennessee Laws Pub. Ch. 554), by its terms the program will not be fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2016.

3/20/2014 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth10 Citations
UT (Utah)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2006Mandatory YesYes    On-PremisesBoth4 Citations
UT (Utah)

In Utah, the Off-Premises Establishments subject to Mandatory training are "off-premise beer retailers." "Off-premise beer retailers" are licensed to sell "beer," which in Utah is any product that contains not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight (ABW) and is obtained by fermentation, infusion, or decoction of any malted grain.

7/1/2006 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth13 Citations
VA (Virginia)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2008       
VA (Virginia)
7/1/2008 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  UnspecifiedExisting3 Citations
WA (Washington)
1/1/2003 - 12/7/2011Mandatory YesYes    On-PremisesBoth5 Citations
WA (Washington)
12/8/2011 - 1/1/2018Mandatory YesYes    BothBoth7 Citations
WA (Washington)
12/8/2011 - 1/1/2018Voluntary    Yes  Off-PremisesNew2 Citations
WY (Wyoming)
1/1/2003 - 1/13/2004       
WY (Wyoming)
1/14/2004 - 1/1/2018Voluntary       BothUnspecified4 Citations