Alcohol Control Systems

Retail Distribution Systems for Spirits

Laws addressing retail distribution of distilled spirits including State-run, private licensed sellers, or combination systems.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Search policies as of this date:
Jurisdiction
[Limited to states with a state-run-system]
Policies as of Distribution System: Spirits Subtype
Alcohol Content Range
V=Alcohol by Volume
W=Alcohol by Weight
N=Measurement Not Specified
Citations
Overall By Spirits Subtype
Alabama (871)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Alabama (852)
1/1/2020Both0.50%V - 100.00%N7 Citations
Idaho (881)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Idaho (878)
1/1/2020State-run>14.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Idaho (883)
1/1/2020License0.00%N - 4.00%V7 Citations
Idaho (859)
1/1/2020Both>4.00%V - 14.00%V9 Citations
Iowa (860)
1/1/2020License
Iowa (873)
1/1/2020License>6.25%V - 100.00%N2 Citations
Maine (885)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Maine (855)
1/1/2020Both>0.50%V - 8.00%V4 Citations
Maine (884)
1/1/2020State-run>8.00%V - 100.00%N5 Citations
Michigan (889)
1/1/2020License
Michigan (856)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N13 Citations
Mississippi (861)
1/1/2020License
Mississippi (892)
1/1/2020License>4.00%W - 100.00%N2 Citations
Montana (862)
1/1/2020State-run
Montana (895)
1/1/2020State-run>0.50%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
New Hampshire (864)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
New Hampshire (903)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 6.00%V3 Citations
New Hampshire (901)

"Agency liquor stores" in New Hampshire, like "contract stores" in other jurisdictions, are off-premises retail alcohol outlets operated on behalf of the State under contractual arrangements between the State and private contractors, under a State-run system.

1/1/2020State-run>6.00%V - 100.00%N6 Citations
North Carolina (863)
1/1/2020State-run
North Carolina (898)
1/1/2020State-run0.50%V - 100.00%N3 Citations
Ohio (865)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Ohio (910)

The retail distribution system for spirit-based beverages containing less than 4 percent ABV is not specifically addressed in Ohio statutes or regulations.

1/1/2020Indeterminate0.50%V - 3.99%V2 Citations
Ohio (908)
1/1/2020License4.00%V - 21.00%V2 Citations
Ohio (906)
1/1/2020State-run>21.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Oregon (866)
1/1/2020State-run
Oregon (917)

The retail distribution system for spirit-based beverages containing up to and including 5 percent ABV is not specifically addressed in Oregon statutes or regulations.

1/1/2020Indeterminate>0.50%V - 5.00%V6 Citations
Oregon (913)
1/1/2020State-run>5.00%V - 100.00%N6 Citations
Pennsylvania (919)
1/1/2020State-run
Pennsylvania (853)
1/1/2020State-run>0.50%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Utah (922)
1/1/2020State-run
Utah (858)
1/1/2020State-run0.50%V - 100.00%N12 Citations
Vermont (867)
1/1/2020State-run
Vermont (929)

Beginning on May 5th, 2009, Vermont permits licensed manufacturers and rectifiers to sell spirits by the bottle at retail, either on the manufacturer's or rectifier's premises under a manufacturer's or rectifier's license, or at a special event under a special events permit granted by the liquor control board.

1/1/2020State-run>1.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Virginia (926)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Virginia (928)
1/1/2020Both0.50%V - 7.50%V3 Citations
Virginia (854)
1/1/2020State-run>7.50%V - 100.00%N2 Citations
Washington (868)
1/1/2020License
Washington (932)
1/1/2020License>1.00%W - 100.00%N17 Citations
West Virginia (936)

In 1990, the West Virginia legislature declared its intent to privatize the retail sale of liquor – defined as alcohol, wine, spirits, and any beer greater than 11.90 percent ABW (4.20 percent ABW prior to July 9, 2009 and 9.60 percent ABW from July 9, 2009 through June 5, 2019) – while retaining control over the distribution of liquor at wholesale. See W. Va. Code § 60-3A-2. This transition is effected by W. Va. Code § 60-3A-3, which states that “[n]otwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, the sale of liquor by retail licensees in accordance with the provisions of this article is lawful,” and that “[u]pon the opening of a retail outlet in any market zone, the State shall, as soon as practicable, discontinue operating any and all State liquor stores and agency stores within the market zone so long as a retail outlet is in operation in the market zone.”

1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
West Virginia (857)

In 1990, the West Virginia legislature declared its intent to privatize the retail sale of liquor – defined as alcohol, wine, spirits, and any beer greater than 11.90 percent ABW (4.20 percent ABW prior to July 9, 2009 and 9.60 percent ABW from July 9, 2009 through June 5, 2019) – while retaining control over the distribution of liquor at wholesale. See W. Va. Code § 60-3A-2. This transition is effected by W. Va. Code § 60-3A-3, which states that “[n]otwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, the sale of liquor by retail licensees in accordance with the provisions of this article is lawful,” and that “[u]pon the opening of a retail outlet in any market zone, the State shall, as soon as practicable, discontinue operating any and all State liquor stores and agency stores within the market zone so long as a retail outlet is in operation in the market zone.”

1/1/2020Both0.00%N - 100.00%N4 Citations
Wyoming (869)
1/1/2020License
Wyoming (938)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N2 Citations