Alcohol Control Systems

Retail Distribution Systems for Wine

Laws addressing retail distribution of wine including State-run, private licensed sellers, or combination systems.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Search policies as of this date:
Jurisdiction
[Limited to states with a state-run-system]
Policies as of Distribution System: Wine Subtype
Alcohol Content Range
V=Alcohol by Volume
W=Alcohol by Weight
N=Measurement Not Specified
Citations
Overall By Wine Subtype
Alabama (966)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Alabama (959)
1/1/2020Both0.05%V - 24.00%V3 Citations
Idaho (977)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Idaho (960)

State liquor stores may sell "table wine" that is manufactured in Idaho. "Table wine" is defined as any "alcoholic beverage containing not more than sixteen percent (16%) alcohol by volume obtained by the fermentation of the natural sugar content of fruits or other agricultural products containing sugar whether or not other ingredients are added." See Idaho Code §§ 23-203 and 23-1303.

1/1/2020License0.00%V - 16.00%V7 Citations
Idaho (979)
1/1/2020Both>16.00%V - 24.00%V7 Citations
Idaho (980)
1/1/2020State-run>24.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Iowa (953)
1/1/2020License
Iowa (970)
1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 100.00%N7 Citations
Maine (954)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Maine (5125)

Although the effective date of the enacting legislation making structural changes to Maine's wine distribution system was June 14, 2013, the arrangement was not fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2014 (see 2013 Me. Laws 269).

 

1/1/2020Both>0.50%V - 24.00%V7 Citations
Maine (5126)

Although the effective date of the enacting legislation making structural changes to Maine's wine distribution system was June 14, 2013, the arrangement was not fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2014 (see 2013 Me. Laws 269).

Note that the retail distribution system for wines containing more than 24 percent ABV is not specifically addressed in Maine statutes or regulations. 

1/1/2020Indeterminate>24.00%V - 100.00%N5 Citations
Michigan (990)
1/1/2020License
Michigan (988)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N8 Citations
Mississippi (993)
1/1/2020License
Mississippi (945)
1/1/2020License0.00%N - 100.00%N8 Citations
Montana (956)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Montana (995)
1/1/2020Both>0.50%V - 16.00%V7 Citations
Montana (996)
1/1/2020State-run>16.00%V - 24.00%V5 Citations
New Hampshire (1008)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
New Hampshire (947)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 6.00%V4 Citations
New Hampshire (1005)
1/1/2020Both>6.00%V - 24.00%V9 Citations
North Carolina (1002)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
North Carolina (1000)

Effective October 1, 2004, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 18B-101 was amended to redefine the alcohol content of unfortified wine from 0.50 percent ABV - 100.00 percent (undefined) to 0.50 percent ABV - 16.00 percent ABV, and the alcohol content of fortified wine was redefined from 0.50 percent ABV - 24.00 percent ABV to >16 percent ABV - 24.00 percent ABV.

1/1/2020License0.50%V - 16.00%V4 Citations
North Carolina (948)

Effective October 1, 2004, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 18B-101 was amended to redefine the alcohol content of unfortified wine from 0.50 percent ABV - 100.00 percent (undefined) to 0.50 percent ABV - 16.00 percent ABV, and the alcohol content of fortified wine was redefined from 0.50 percent ABV - 24.00 percent ABV to >16 percent ABV - 24.00 percent ABV. In addition, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 18B-800 was amended to provide that “ABC stores may also sell wine products, irrespective of alcohol content by volume, which were classified as fortified wine by the ABC Commission prior to July 7, 2004.”

1/1/2020Both>16.00%V - 24.00%V6 Citations
Ohio (1011)
1/1/2020License
Ohio (942)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 21.00%V4 Citations
Oregon (1016)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Oregon (943)
1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 5.00%V2 Citations
Oregon (1013)
1/1/2020Both>5.00%V - 21.00%V7 Citations
Pennsylvania (1019)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Pennsylvania (962)
1/1/2020Both>0.50%V - 24.00%N6 Citations
Utah (1022)
1/1/2020State-run
Utah (951)
1/1/2020State-run0.50%V - 100.00%N12 Citations
Vermont (1033)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Vermont (1029)
1/1/2020License1.00%V - 16.00%V2 Citations
Vermont (961)
1/1/2020Both16.00%V - 23.00%V3 Citations
Vermont (1034)
1/1/2020State-run>23.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Virginia (1027)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Virginia (5092)

State stores, referred to as "government stores" in Virginia, may sell wine produced by Virginia farm wineries. Other wines from 0.5 percent ABV to and including 21 percent ABV are distributed by license.

1/1/2020Both0.50%V - 21.00%V5 Citations
Washington (955)
1/1/2020License
Washington (1035)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N12 Citations
West Virginia (1043)

In 1990, the West Virginia legislature declared its intent to privatize the retail sale of liquor – defined as alcohol, wine, spirits, and any beer greater than 11.90 percent ABW (4.20 percent ABW prior to July 9, 2009 and 9.60 percent ABW from July 9, 2009 through June 5, 2019) – while retaining control over the distribution of liquor at wholesale. See W. Va. Code § 60-3A-2. This transition is effected by W. Va. Code § 60-3A-3, which states that “[n]otwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, the sale of liquor by retail licensees in accordance with the provisions of this article is lawful,” and that “[u]pon the opening of a retail outlet in any market zone, the State shall, as soon as practicable, discontinue operating any and all State liquor stores and agency stores within the market zone so long as a retail outlet is in operation in the market zone.”

1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
West Virginia (946)

In 1990, the West Virginia legislature declared its intent to privatize the retail sale of liquor – defined as alcohol, wine, spirits, and any beer greater than 11.90 percent ABW (4.20 percent ABW prior to July 9, 2009 and 9.60 percent ABW from July 9, 2009 through June 5, 2019) – while retaining control over the distribution of liquor at wholesale. See W. Va. Code § 60-3A-2. This transition is effected by W. Va. Code § 60-3A-3, which states that “[n]otwithstanding any provision of this code to the contrary, the sale of liquor by retail licensees in accordance with the provisions of this article is lawful,” and that “[u]pon the opening of a retail outlet in any market zone, the State shall, as soon as practicable, discontinue operating any and all State liquor stores and agency stores within the market zone so long as a retail outlet is in operation in the market zone.”

1/1/2020Both0.50%V - 100.00%N9 Citations
Wyoming (1045)
1/1/2020License
Wyoming (949)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N2 Citations