Underage Drinking

Use/Lose: Driving Privileges

Laws addressing suspension or revocation of driving privileges as a penalty for underage purchase, possession, or consumption of alcoholic beverages.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and
Changes Over Time for Use/Lose: Driving Privileges
Jurisdiction Date Range Types of Violation Leading to License
Suspension or Revocation
Upper Age
Limit
Authority to
Impose License
Sanction
Length of Suspension/
Revocation in Days
Citations
Purchase Possession Consumption Suspend
Minimum
Suspend
Maximum
Alaska (4030)

On January 1, 1999, Alaska Stat. § 28.15.185 was amended such that the revocation of driving privileges was no longer a penalty for a first offense of minor consumption or possession. APIS only includes provisions that impose a license sanction for first offenses.

1/1/1998 - 12/31/1998 YesYes18Mandatory1901 Citations
Alaska (3969)
1/1/1999 - 1/1/2019    
Arkansas (4032)
1/1/1998 - 8/11/2005    
Arkansas (4024)
8/12/2005 - 1/1/2019YesYes 21Mandatory60604 Citations
Arkansas (4023)
4/6/2009 - 1/1/2019YesYes 18Discretionary0n/s5 Citations
Colorado (3972)
1/1/1998 - 8/4/2009YesYesYes21Mandatoryn/s906 Citations
Colorado (4134)
8/5/2009 - 1/1/2019    1 Citations
Connecticut (4036)
1/1/1998 - 6/24/2007YesYes 21Mandatory1501503 Citations
Connecticut (3973)

In addition to the 30 day suspension penalty mentioned in the table above, Connecticut imposes a license suspension of 60 days if underage possession occurs "on any public street or highway." See Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 14-111e(a), 30-89(b)(1). APIS does not code provisions that apply only when the minor is located on a public street or highway.

6/25/2007 - 1/1/2019 Yes 21Mandatory30304 Citations
Florida (4039)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/1999 Yes 18Mandatory1803651 Citations
Florida (3976)
7/1/1999 - 1/1/2019YesYes 18Mandatory1803654 Citations
Georgia (4040)

With respect to underage possession, Georgia imposes a license sanction only if the possession occurs while operating a motor vehicle. See Ga. Code Ann. § 40-5-63(e). APIS does not address provisions that apply only when the minor is the operator or passenger of a motor vehicle.

1/1/1998 - 6/30/2015Yes  21Mandatory1801803 Citations
Georgia (3977)
7/1/2015 - 1/1/2019    No Law
1 Citations
Hawaii (4012)
1/1/1998 - 12/31/2006    
Hawaii (4019)
1/1/2007 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes18Discretionary180n/s2 Citations
Hawaii (4041)
1/1/2007 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory180n/s2 Citations
Illinois (4044)
1/1/1998 - 12/31/2002 Yes 21Discretionary03652 Citations
Illinois (3979)
1/1/2003 - 7/21/2009YesYesYes21Discretionary03655 Citations
Illinois (4025)
7/22/2009 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory1801805 Citations
Indiana (4045)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2014YesYes 21Mandatory903653 Citations
Indiana (3980)
7/1/2014 - 1/1/2019    No Law
3 Citations
Kansas (4046)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2001    
Kansas (3982)
7/1/2001 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory30302 Citations
Maryland (4052)
1/1/1998 - 9/30/2009 Yes 18Discretionary30905 Citations
Maryland (4026)
10/1/2009 - 1/1/2019 YesYes18Discretionary30904 Citations
Massachusetts (4050)
1/1/1998 - 11/3/1998Yes  21Mandatory90901 Citations
Massachusetts (4011)
11/4/1998 - 1/1/2019Yes  21Mandatory1801802 Citations
Mississippi (4057)
1/1/1998 - 4/10/2002    
Mississippi (3987)
4/11/2002 - 1/1/2019YesYes 21Mandatoryn/s903 Citations
Missouri (4056)
1/1/1998 - 8/27/2005    
Missouri (3988)

Although Missouri does not authorize a Use / Lose penalty for all underage consumption, a law that became effective on August 28, 2005 imposes the mandatory license sanction on an underage person who “has a detectable blood alcohol content of more than two-hundredths of one percent or more by weight of alcohol in such person's blood.” See Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 311.325(1), 577.500(2) (2005), 302.400 (2017).

8/28/2005 - 1/1/2019YesYes 21Mandatory30304 Citations
Montana (4058)
1/1/1998 - 3/15/2001    
Montana (4016)
3/16/2001 - 9/30/2003 YesYes18Discretionary603651 Citations
Montana (3989)
10/1/2003 - 1/1/2019 YesYes18Mandatory30303 Citations
Nebraska (4061)
1/1/1998 - 7/14/2010    
Nebraska (3990)
7/15/2010 - 1/1/2019 YesYes18Discretionary30303 Citations
New Hampshire (4062)
1/1/1998 - 12/31/2002YesYes 18Discretionary903651 Citations
New Hampshire (3992)

Although New Hampshire does not authorize a Use / Lose penalty for all underage consumption, a law that became effective on January 1, 2003, imposes a discretionary license sanction on minors who are "intoxicated by consumption of an alcoholic beverage," and provides that an alcohol concentration "of .02 or more shall be prima facie evidence of intoxication.” See N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 179:10(I), 263:56-b.

1/1/2003 - 1/1/2019YesYes 21Discretionary903655 Citations
Oklahoma (4068)

In Oklahoma, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW). The Department of Public Safety is required to cancel or deny driving privileges for one of four possible periods of time as recommended by the court: (1) for a period not to exceed six (6) months; (2) for a period not to exceed one (1) year; (3) for a period not to exceed two (2) years; or (4) until the person attains twenty-one (21) years of age.

1/1/1998 - 6/30/2006 Yes 18Mandatory1807302 Citations
Oklahoma (3998)

In Oklahoma, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW). Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

7/1/2006 - 10/31/2015 Yes 18Mandatory1801804 Citations
Oklahoma (4028)

Effective November 1, 2015, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have purchased, possessed or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW) or any intoxicating beverage. Prior to November 2015, the denial of driving privileges was a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer. Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

11/1/2015 - 9/30/2018YesYesYes18Mandatory1801803 Citations
Oklahoma (4147)

Beginning on October 1, 2018, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed any intoxicating beverage or low-point beer. Between September 30, 2018 and November 1, 2015, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have purchased, possessed or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW) or any intoxicating beverage. Prior to November 2015, the denial of driving privileges was a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer. Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

10/1/2018 - 1/1/2019 Yes 18Mandatory1801803 Citations
Oregon (4069)

Whenever a person who is 17 years of age or younger, but not younger than 13 years of age, is convicted of any offense involving the use or abuse of alcohol, the Department of Transportation shall impose a suspension for one year, or until the person so suspended reaches 17 years of age, whichever is longer.

1/1/1998 - 12/31/2007 YesYes18Mandatory3653651 Citations
Oregon (4021)

Whenever a person who is 17 years of age or younger, but not younger than 13 years of age, is convicted of any offense involving the use or abuse of alcohol, the Department of Transportation shall impose a suspension for one year, or until the person so suspended reaches 17 years of age, whichever is longer.

1/1/2008 - 12/31/2018 YesYes21Mandatory3653654 Citations
Oregon (4129)
1/1/2019 - 1/1/2019    1 Citations
Rhode Island (4015)
1/1/1998 - 7/1/2008Yes  21Discretionary0901 Citations
Rhode Island (4071)
7/2/2004 - 1/1/2019 Yes 21Mandatory60603 Citations
Rhode Island (4000)
7/2/2008 - 1/1/2019Yes  21Mandatory30304 Citations
South Carolina (4072)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2007YesYes 21Mandatory90902 Citations
South Carolina (4001)
7/1/2007 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory1201207 Citations
South Dakota (4073)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2000    
South Dakota (4002)
7/1/2000 - 6/30/2012YesYesYes21Mandatory303652 Citations
South Dakota (4027)
7/1/2012 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Discretionary303651 Citations
Utah (4078)
1/1/1998 - 4/29/2007YesYesYes18Discretionary90904 Citations
Utah (4004)
4/30/2007 - 6/30/2009YesYesYes21Discretionary90904 Citations
Utah (4022)
7/1/2009 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory3653658 Citations
Virginia (4079)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2005YesYes 21Discretionary3651 Citations
Virginia (4080)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/2005YesYes 18Mandatory1801802 Citations
Virginia (4020)
7/1/2005 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes18Mandatory1801805 Citations
Virginia (4014)
7/1/2005 - 6/30/2006YesYesYes21Discretionary3652 Citations
Virginia (4018)
7/1/2006 - 1/1/2019YesYesYes21Mandatory1803653 Citations