Underage Drinking

Use/Lose: Driving Privileges

Laws addressing suspension or revocation of driving privileges as a penalty for underage purchase, possession, or consumption of alcoholic beverages.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and

Active Filters:

Changes Over Time for Use/Lose: Driving Privileges
Jurisdiction Date Range Types of Violation Leading to License
Suspension or Revocation
Upper Age
Limit
Authority to
Impose License
Sanction
Length of Suspension/
Revocation in Days
Citations
Purchase Possession Consumption Suspend
Minimum
Suspend
Maximum
Oklahoma (4068)

In Oklahoma, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW). The Department of Public Safety is required to cancel or deny driving privileges for one of four possible periods of time as recommended by the court: (1) for a period not to exceed six (6) months; (2) for a period not to exceed one (1) year; (3) for a period not to exceed two (2) years; or (4) until the person attains twenty-one (21) years of age.

1/1/1998 - 6/30/2006 Yes 18Mandatory1807302 Citations
Oklahoma (3998)

In Oklahoma, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW). Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

7/1/2006 - 10/31/2015 Yes 18Mandatory1801804 Citations
Oklahoma (4028)

Effective November 1, 2015, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have purchased, possessed or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW) or any intoxicating beverage. Prior to November 2015, the denial of driving privileges was a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer. Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

11/1/2015 - 9/30/2018YesYesYes18Mandatory1801803 Citations
Oklahoma (4147)

Beginning on October 1, 2018, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed any intoxicating beverage or low-point beer. Between September 30, 2018 and November 1, 2015, the denial of driving privileges is a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have purchased, possessed or consumed low-point beer (defined as containing not more than 3.2 percent ABW) or any intoxicating beverage. Prior to November 2015, the denial of driving privileges was a consequence imposed on those under 18 years who have possessed an intoxicating beverage or purchased, possessed, or consumed low-point beer. Between July 1, 2006 and October 31, 2010, the law required the court to order the Department of Public Safety to cancel or deny driving privileges for a period of 6 months for a first offense from the date of the offense or from the date the person reaches 16 years, whichever period of time is longer. In addition, the court has the discretion to impose a longer cancellation or denial period which can extend to the offender’s 21st birthday. After November 1, 2010, the legislature did not change the 6 month mandatory period and the provision regarding the court’s discretion to impose a longer penalty but revised the law’s application to those under 16 years of age. It no longer requires the court to begin the 6 month mandatory cancellation or denial period upon the 16th birthday. It instead requires that the period be extended to the offender’s 16th birthday if the period would otherwise end before that date.

10/1/2018 - 1/1/2020 Yes 18Mandatory1801803 Citations