Alcohol Control Systems

Wholesale Distribution Systems for Wine

Laws addressing wholesale distribution of wine including State-run, private licensed sellers, or combination systems.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Search policies as of this date:
Jurisdiction
[Limited to states with a state-run-system]
Policies as of Distribution System: Wine Subtype
Alcohol Content Range
V=Alcohol by Volume
W=Alcohol by Weight
N=Measurement Not Specified
Citations
Overall By Wine Subtype
Alabama (1273)
1/1/2020License
Alabama (1265)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 24.00%V6 Citations
Idaho (1283)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Idaho (1287)
1/1/2020License0.00%N - 16.00%V9 Citations
Idaho (1285)

The storage and distribution of "table wine" that is manufactured in Idaho may continue via the state system. "Table wine" is defined as any "alcoholic beverage containing not more than sixteen percent (16%) alcohol by volume obtained by the fermentation of the natural sugar content of fruits or other agricultural products containing sugar whether or not other ingredients are added." See Idaho Code §§ 23-203 and 23-1303.

1/1/2020Both>16.00%V - 24.00%V10 Citations
Idaho (1286)
1/1/2020State-run>24.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Iowa (1260)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Iowa (1274)
1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 21.25%V7 Citations
Iowa (1276)
1/1/2020State-run>21.25%V - 100.00%N5 Citations
Maine (5122)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Maine (5123)

Although the effective date of the enacting legislation making structural changes to Maine's wine distribution system was June 14, 2013, the arrangement was not fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2014 (see 2013 Me. Laws 269).

1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 24.00%V7 Citations
Maine (5124)

Although the effective date of the enacting legislation making structural changes to Maine's wine distribution system was June 14, 2013, the arrangement was not fully implemented and enforceable until July 1, 2014 (see 2013 Me. Laws 269).

Note that the wholesale distribution system for wines containing more than 24 percent ABV is not specifically addressed in Maine statutes or regulations. 

1/1/2020Indeterminate>24.00%V - 100.00%N5 Citations
Michigan (1296)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Michigan (1293)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 21.00%V9 Citations
Michigan (1250)
1/1/2020State-run>21.00%V - 100.00%N9 Citations
Mississippi (1300)

The State Tax Commission in Mississippi has the authority to promulgate rules and regulations authorizing on- premises retailers to purchase limited amounts of alcoholic beverages from package retailers and for package retailers to purchase limited amounts of alcoholic beverages from other package retailers. See Miss. Code Ann. § 67-1-41(4).

1/1/2020State-run
Mississippi (1251)

Beginning July 1, 2006, native wineries are authorized to make sales to retailers only if those retailers are located outside the State of Mississippi. Prior to July 1, 2006, native wineries were authorized to make sales to retail permittees in Mississippi as well as retailers located outside of Mississippi.

The State Tax Commission in Mississippi has the authority to promulgate rules and regulations authorizing on- premises retailers to purchase limited amounts of alcoholic beverages from package retailers and for package retailers to purchase limited amounts of alcoholic beverages from other package retailers. See Miss. Code Ann. § 67-1-41(4).

1/1/2020State-run0.00%N - 100.00%N11 Citations
Montana (1305)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Montana (1302)
1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 16.00%V4 Citations
Montana (1252)
1/1/2020State-run>16.00%V - 24.00%V3 Citations
New Hampshire (1313)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
New Hampshire (1310)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 6.00%V3 Citations
New Hampshire (1253)
1/1/2020State-run>6.00%V - 24.00%V4 Citations
North Carolina (1308)
1/1/2020License
North Carolina (1255)

Pursuant to N.C. Admin. Code tit. 4, r. 2R.1402, local boards are required to purchase fortified wine only from North Carolina wholesalers who have been issued a wine wholesaler permit.

1/1/2020License0.50%V - 24.00%V6 Citations
Ohio (1261)
1/1/2020License
Ohio (1315)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 21.00%V5 Citations
Oregon (1321)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Oregon (1246)
1/1/2020License>0.50%V - 5.00%V2 Citations
Oregon (1319)

Although wine in Oregon is defined as containing not more than 21 percent ABV, and as including fortified wine, Or. Rev. Stat. § 471.235 authorizes "the importation and sale to the commission and the export of wine of alcoholic content in excess of 21 percent alcohol by volume" by wholesale wine licensees.

1/1/2020Both>5.00%V - 21.00%V7 Citations
Pennsylvania (1324)
1/1/2020State-run
Pennsylvania (1257)
1/1/2020State-run>0.50%V - 24.00%N5 Citations
Utah (1327)
1/1/2020State-run
Utah (1258)
1/1/2020State-run0.50%V - 100.00%N8 Citations
Vermont (1337)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
Vermont (1247)
1/1/2020License1.00%V - 16.00%V4 Citations
Vermont (1334)
1/1/2020State-run>16.00%V - 100.00%N4 Citations
Virginia (1332)
1/1/2020Mixed/Overlapping
Virginia (1263)

Effective April 4, 2007, Virginia authorizes a “nonprofit, nonstock corporation” organized under Virginia Code Title 13.1, Chapter 10, to provide wholesale wine distribution services for “licensed Virginia wineries and farm wineries.” This “nonprofit, nonstock corporation” is “a public instrumentality exercising public and essential governmental functions.” See Va. Code Ann. §§ 3.2-102(B)(5), 4.1-207(2), 4.1-207.1. Other wines from 0.5 percent ABV to and including 21 percent ABV are distributed by license.

1/1/2020Both0.50%V - 21.00%V9 Citations
Washington (1262)
1/1/2020License
Washington (1340)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 100.00%N18 Citations
West Virginia (1349)
1/1/2020Mixed/Not Overlapping
West Virginia (1346)
1/1/2020License0.50%V - 22.00%V4 Citations
West Virginia (1254)
1/1/2020State-run>22.00%V - 100.00%N8 Citations
Wyoming (1351)
1/1/2020State-run
Wyoming (1256)

Beginning July 1, 2019, a retail liquor licensee may purchase for resale not more than nine (9) liters of wine or spirits per week from another retail liquor licensee authorized pursuant to Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 12-4-201.

1/1/2020State-run0.50%V - 100.00%N4 Citations