Alcohol Beverages Pricing

Wholesale Pricing Practices and Restrictions

Laws restricting the wholesale price of alcoholic beverages.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and

Active Filters:

Changes Over Time for Wholesale Pricing Practices and Restrictions
Jurisdiction Date Range Beverage Type Control Volume Discounts Minimum Markup Maximum Discount Post and Hold Minimum Hold Period (in days) Retailer Credit Maximum Credit Period (in days) Citations
MI (Michigan)

With respect to beer, prices may be decreased during the 180 day minimum hold period to meet a competing wholesaler’s price. The price reduction must not exceed the competition's price and must continue for the balance of the 180 days filed by the competition.

Credit may be extended for a maximum of 30 days for on-sale retailers; no credit may be extended to off-sale retailers.

1/1/2003 - 4/11/2016Beer Banned Post and Hold180Yes307 Citations
MI (Michigan)

With respect to beer, prices may be decreased during the 90 day minimum hold period to meet a competing wholesaler’s price. The price reduction cannnot be greater on a cents-per-case basis than the price reduction filed by the competition and must continue for the balance of the 90 days filed by the competition.

Credit may be extended for a maximum of 30 days for on-sale retailers; no credit may be extended to off-sale retailers.

4/12/2016 - 1/1/2018Beer Banned Post and Hold90Yes3010 Citations