Alcohol Beverages Taxes

Wine

Laws specifying the two major types of taxes levied on wine – “specific excise taxes” (taxes levied on the quantity of a beverage) and “ad valorem excise taxes” (taxes levied on the price of a beverage).

Users familiar with the previous APIS analysis of Alcohol Beverages Taxes (2003-2007) are strongly advised to review the information under the "About This Policy" tab and the "Variables” tab. There have been important changes in the ways that variables are defined, the data included and excluded, and the assumptions underlying the APIS analysis of this policy topic.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and
Changes Over Time for Wine
Jurisdiction Date Range Control Specific Excise Tax Per Gallon for 12% Alcohol Ad Valorem Excise Tax On-Premises for 12% Alcohol Ad Valorem Excise Tax Off-Premises for 12% Alcohol Additional Taxes for 6-14% Alcohol Citations
Wholesale Tax Rate Retail Tax Rate Sales Tax DOES NOT Apply Sales Tax Rate Sales Tax Adjusted Retail Ad Valorem Rate Wholesale Tax Rate Retail Tax Rate Sales Tax DOES NOT Apply Sales Tax Rate Sales Tax Adjusted Retail Ad Valorem Rate
Alabama (698)
1/1/2003 - 2/19/2004 $1.70          1 Citations
Alabama (637)
2/20/2004 - 1/1/2019Yes           
Connecticut (703)
1/1/2003 - 5/3/2011 $0.60          2 Citations
Connecticut (641)
5/4/2011 - 1/1/2019 $0.72          3 Citations
Delaware (705)
1/1/2003 - 8/31/2017 $0.97          2 Citations
Delaware (643)
9/1/2017 - 1/1/2019 $1.63          3 Citations
District of Columbia (704)
1/1/2003 - 9/30/2009 $0.30 10.00%Yes5.75%4.25% 9.00%Yes5.75%3.25%4 Citations
District of Columbia (642)
10/1/2009 - 6/30/2011 $0.30 10.00%Yes6.00%4.00% 9.00%Yes6.00%3.00%5 Citations
District of Columbia (689)
7/1/2011 - 9/30/2013 $0.30 10.00%Yes6.00%4.00% 10.00%Yes6.00%4.00%6 Citations
District of Columbia (690)
10/1/2013 - 10/29/2018 $0.30 10.00%Yes5.75%4.25% 10.00%Yes5.75%4.25%6 Citations
District of Columbia (4107)
10/30/2018 - 1/1/2019 $0.30 10.00%Yes6.00%4.00% 10.25%Yes6.00%4.25%7 Citations
Illinois (711)
1/1/2003 - 8/31/2009 $0.73          2 Citations
Illinois (648)
9/1/2009 - 1/1/2019 $1.39          6 Citations
Kansas (713)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2010 $0.308.00%10.00%Yes5.30%4.70% 8.00%Yes5.30%2.70%8 Citations
Kansas (650)
7/1/2010 - 6/30/2013 $0.308.00%10.00%Yes6.30%3.70% 8.00%Yes6.30%1.70%9 Citations
Kansas (691)
7/1/2013 - 6/30/2015 $0.308.00%10.00%Yes6.15%3.85% 8.00%Yes6.15%1.85%9 Citations
Kansas (692)
7/1/2015 - 1/1/2019 $0.308.00%10.00%Yes6.50%3.50% 8.00%Yes6.50%1.50%9 Citations
Kentucky (714)
1/1/2003 - 5/31/2005 $0.509.00%    9.00%    6 Citations
Kentucky (651)
6/1/2005 - 6/30/2015 $0.5011.00%    11.00%    7 Citations
Kentucky (693)
7/1/2015 - 5/31/2016 $0.5010.75%    10.75%    7 Citations
Kentucky (694)
6/1/2016 - 5/31/2017 $0.5010.50%    10.50%    7 Citations
Kentucky (695)
6/1/2017 - 5/31/2018 $0.5010.25%    10.25%    7 Citations
Kentucky (4111)
6/1/2018 - 1/1/2019 $0.5010.00%    10.00%    7 Citations
Louisiana (715)
1/1/2003 - 3/31/2016 $0.11          

$0.32 per gallon for alcohol content of 6% or less.

3 Citations
Louisiana (652)
4/1/2016 - 1/1/2019 $0.76          

$0.40 per gallon for alcohol content of 6% or less.

4 Citations
Maryland (717)

For the period January 1, 2003 through January 2, 2008, a 5 percent general sales tax applied to alcoholic beverages, and no specific ad valorem tax applied to alcoholic beverages. For the period January 3, 2008 through June 30, 2011, a 6 percent general sales tax applied to alcoholic beverages, and no specific ad valorem tax applied to alcoholic beverages. For the period beginning July 1, 2011 a 9 percent ad valorem tax on alcoholic beverages applies, in lieu of the 6 percent general sales tax. See Md. Ann. Code, Tax - General, § 11-104(a), (g) (as amended by 2007 Md. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. Ch. 6, 2011 Md. Laws 571, and 2011 Md. Laws 572).

1/1/2003 - 6/30/2011 $0.40          2 Citations
Maryland (654)

For the period January 1, 2003 through January 2, 2008, a 5 percent general sales tax applied to alcoholic beverages, and no specific ad valorem tax applied to alcoholic beverages. For the period January 3, 2008 through June 30, 2011, a 6 percent general sales tax applied to alcoholic beverages, and no specific ad valorem tax applied to alcoholic beverages. For the period beginning July 1, 2011 a 9 percent ad valorem tax on alcoholic beverages applies, in lieu of the 6 percent general sales tax. See Md. Ann. Code, Tax - General, § 11-104(a), (g) (as amended by 2007 Md. Laws 1st Sp. Sess. Ch. 6, 2011 Md. Laws 571, and 2011 Md. Laws 572).

7/1/2011 - 1/1/2019 $0.40 9.00%Yes6.00%3.00% 9.00%Yes6.00%3.00%5 Citations
Minnesota (720)
1/1/2003 - 12/31/2005 $0.30 9.00%Yes6.50%2.50% 9.00%Yes6.50%2.50%4 Citations
Minnesota (656)
1/1/2006 - 1/1/2019 $0.30 2.50%  2.50% 2.50%  2.50%7 Citations
Nebraska (726)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2003 $0.75          1 Citations
Nebraska (660)
7/1/2003 - 1/1/2019 $0.95          5 Citations
Nevada (730)
1/1/2003 - 7/31/2003 $0.40          4 Citations
Nevada (661)
8/1/2003 - 1/1/2019 $0.70          5 Citations
New Jersey (728)
1/1/2003 - 7/31/2009 $0.70          3 Citations
New Jersey (663)
8/1/2009 - 1/1/2019 $0.88          4 Citations
New York (731)
1/1/2003 - 4/30/2009 $0.19          1 Citations
New York (665)
5/1/2009 - 1/1/2019 $0.30          3 Citations
North Carolina (724)
1/1/2003 - 8/31/2009 $0.79          3 Citations
North Carolina (666)
9/1/2009 - 1/1/2019 $1.00          4 Citations
Oklahoma (669)
1/1/2003 - 9/30/2018 $0.72          2 Citations
Oklahoma (4145)
10/1/2018 - 1/1/2019 $0.72 13.50%  13.50%     4 Citations
Rhode Island (736)
1/1/2003 - 6/30/2013 $0.60          2 Citations
Rhode Island (672)
7/1/2013 - 1/1/2019 $1.40          3 Citations
Texas (740)

In Texas, the holder of a wine and beer retailer's permit is subject to the State sales tax rate of 6.25% rather than the Ad Valorem Excise Tax On-Premises rates.

1/1/2003 - 12/31/2013 $0.20 14.00%Yes6.25%7.75%     7 Citations
Texas (675)

In Texas, the holder of a wine and beer retailer's permit is subject to the State sales tax rate of 6.25% rather than the Ad Valorem Excise Tax On-Premises rates.

1/1/2014 - 1/1/2019 $0.20 14.95%Yes6.25%8.70%     12 Citations
Vermont (743)
1/1/2003 - 9/30/2003 $0.55 10.00%Yes5.00%5.00%     6 Citations
Vermont (677)
10/1/2003 - 1/1/2019 $0.55 10.00%Yes6.00%4.00%     8 Citations
Washington (744)

APIS does not report taxes in States where the index beverage is wholly or partially sold in State-run retail stores or through State-run wholesalers. The tax rate for Washington is reported beginning on December 8, 2011, when privatization began as a result of passage of Initiative 1183.

1/1/2003 - 12/7/2011Yes           
Washington (679)

APIS does not report taxes in States where the index beverage is wholly or partially sold in State-run retail stores or through State-run wholesalers. The tax rate for Washington is reported beginning on December 8, 2011, when privatization began as a result of passage of Initiative 1183.

12/8/2011 - 1/1/2019 $0.87          5 Citations