Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits

Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)

Laws addressing blood alcohol concentration limits applicable to drivers of noncommercial automobiles, trucks, and motorcycles who have not reached the legal drinking age of 21 years.

Policy Topics

View another policy topic by selecting an option from the following menu.

Learn More

View definitions for each of the column headings.

Viewing Policies as of Date

Filter

Sort

Show policies in effect any time within the date range specified:

and
Changes Over Time for Youth (Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles)
Jurisdiction Date Range BAC Limit Lower Age Limit Upper Age Limit Per Se Citations
Delaware (1628)
1/1/1998 - 7/13/19980.02 21 
Delaware (1574)
7/14/1998 - 1/1/20190.02 21Yes2 Citations
Maryland (1640)
1/1/1998 - 9/30/20010.02 21Yes
Maryland (1585)
10/1/2001 - 1/1/20190.00 21Yes2 Citations
Mississippi (1645)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/19980.08 21Yes1 Citations
Mississippi (1589)
7/1/1998 - 1/1/20190.02 21Yes2 Citations
South Carolina (1660)
1/1/1998 - 6/28/19980.00   
South Carolina (1603)
6/29/1998 - 1/1/20190.02 21Yes2 Citations
South Dakota (1661)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/19980.00   
South Dakota (1604)
7/1/1998 - 1/1/20190.02 21Yes2 Citations
Tennessee (1662)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/20160.021621Yes1 Citations
Tennessee (1617)

A BAC limit of 0.08 applies to drivers who are at least 18 years of age.

7/1/2016 - 9/18/20160.021618Yes3 Citations
Tennessee (1618)
9/19/2016 - 1/1/20190.021621Yes2 Citations
Wyoming (1670)
1/1/1998 - 6/30/19980.00   
Wyoming (1612)
7/1/1998 - 1/1/20190.02 21Yes2 Citations